MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD MEETING OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 2184, ROCK COUNTY, LUVERNE, MINNESOTA. A regular meeting of the Board of Education, ISD #2184, was held in the District Office on May 25, 2023, at 7:00 p.m.

The following members were present: Michael DeBates, Eric Hartman, Tim Jarchow, Zach Nolz, Randy Sasker, and David Wrigg. Absent: Ryan DeBates. Also present: Craig Oftedahl, Tyler Reisch, Ryan Johnson, Stacy Gillette, Becky Rahm, Marie Atkinson-Smeins, Patrick Kroski, Averill Sehr, and Mavis Fodness - Rock County Star Herald.

Chairperson Tim Jarchow opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance. Motion made by Eric Hartman, second by Zach Nolz, to approve the agenda as presented. Motion unanimously carried.

Elementary Counselor Marie Atkinson-Smeins reviewed her program curriculum, goals, and projects for the past school year.

Administrative reports were given.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Eric Hartman, to approve the April 27, 2023, school board meeting minutes as presented. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Randy Sasker, to accept the following donations:

American Legion Luverne - \$1000 for School Patrol

American Legion Auxiliary Luverne - \$1000 for School Patrol

Donors Choose - Let's Go Math project for Molly Carbonneau's classroom

Security Savings Bank - \$300 for state track meet

Professional Ag Marketing, Inc. - \$300 for Business Professionals of America Motion unanimously carried.

Business Manager Tyler Reisch reviewed the bills with the School Board. Motion made by Michael DeBates, second by Zach Nolz, to approve payment of the Student Activity and District bills as presented in the amount of \$875,820.85 with payroll in the amount of \$1,045,127.62 for a total of \$1,921,948.47. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Zach Nolz, to receive the Student Activity report showing the balances as of April 30, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Eric Hartman, second by David Wrigg, to approve the following summer curriculum work: 18 teachers for 16 hours each to review new elementary reading curriculum, implementation, and Science of Reading training; 20 teachers for 16 hours each to review elementary writing curriculum for implementation; and 18 teachers for 4 hours each to review new elementary science standards and mapping of curriculum. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Eric Hartman, second by Zach Nolz, to set the date for fuel quotations to be received by July 14, 2023, at 11:00 a.m. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Michael DeBates, to approve the Resolution for Membership in the Minnesota State High School League for the 2023-2024 school year. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Randy Sasker, second by Eric Hartman, to approve the following revised policies: Policy 603 - Curriculum Development; Policy 604 - Instructional Curriculum; and Policy 417 - Chemical Use and Abuse. The changes to these policies were in accordance with the recommendations from the Minnesota School Board Association and have been reviewed by the Policy Committee. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Michael DeBates, second by Eric Hartman, to approve the 2023-2024 Student Accident Insurance with Student Assurance Services. This is a supplemental insurance that is paid for by individual families. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Randy Sasker, second by David Wrigg, to approve the 2023-2024 School Board meeting schedule as presented. Motion unanimously carried.

Tyler Reisch reviewed the Pay Equity Compliance report with the School Board members. The School District did pass all of the pay equity tests. This report is required to be submitted to the State every 3 years. Motion made by Eric Hartman, second by David Wrigg, to approve the report as presented. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Randy Sasker, second by David Wrigg, to accept the resignation of Danielle Ganun, Paraprofessional, effective May 31, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Eric Hartman, second by Michael DeBates, to accept the resignation of Caroline Thorson as Prom Advisor effective May 31, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by David Wrigg, second by Zach Nolz, to accept the resignation of Jennifer Radtke as Prom Advisor effective May 31, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Zach Nolz, second by Michael DeBates, to accept the retirement of Deborah Kneip, Paraprofessional, effective May 31, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Eric Hartman, second by David Wrigg, to accept the resignation of Ardell VanWettering, Custodian, effective May 16, 2023. Motion unanimously carried.

Motion made by Zach Nolz, second by Randy Sasker, to approve the hiring of Skyler Wenninger as Physical Education and Health teacher beginning with the 2023-2024 school year for a salary of \$49,989.00. Motion unanimously carried.

Committee reports were given.

The upcoming meeting dates were reviewed. Motion made by Eric Hartman, second by Zach Nolz, to adjourn the meeting. Motion unanimously carried.

Dated: May 25, 2023	
	David Wrigg, Clerk